Klaviyo vs Omnisend for Shopify and WooCommerce stores
Two store-focused email and SMS platforms read from their own pages: what each costs as the list grows, what it counts and which store events it documents.
Klaviyo and Omnisend both sell email and SMS marketing built around online-store data. We read their pricing, plan and help pages on 29 October 2026 and recorded what they state, for a small Shopify or WooCommerce store with a list of roughly 500 to 10,000 contacts. We did not test either platform and make no claim about its effect on sales, conversion or repeat purchases.
At a glance
| Characteristic | Klaviyo | Omnisend |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan (Same) | YesSource changed · (past the re-check window) — verified; opens the source in a new tab | Yes— verified; opens the source in a new tab |
| Contacts on the free plan (Same) | 250Source changed · (past the re-check window) — verified; opens the source in a new tab | 250— verified; opens the source in a new tab |
| Contacts at the priced tier (Same) | 500Source changed · (past the re-check window) — verified; opens the source in a new tab | 500— verified; opens the source in a new tab |
| Monthly sendsDiffers (Differs) | 5,000Source changed · (past the re-check window) — verified; opens the source in a new tab | 6,000— verified; opens the source in a new tab |
| Official site | Visit site of Klaviyo(official site, opens in a new tab) | Visit site of Omnisend(official site, opens in a new tab) |
Free plan and entry limits as each platform states them (read on 29 October 2026). Prices are in the next table.
- Omnisend
- Yes— verified; opens the source in a new tab
- Omnisend
- 250— verified; opens the source in a new tab
- Omnisend
- 500— verified; opens the source in a new tab
- Omnisend
- 6,000— verified; opens the source in a new tab
Monthly cost at four list sizes
| Contacts | Klaviyo email plan | Klaviyo emails a month | Omnisend Standard | Omnisend emails a month | Omnisend Pro |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1,000 | $30 | 10,000 | $20 | 12,000 | Starts at 2,500 contacts |
| 2,500 | $60 | 25,000 | $44 | 30,000 | $59 |
| 5,000 | $100 | 50,000 | $81 | 60,000 | $90 |
| 10,000 | $150 | 100,000 | $132 | 120,000 | $150 |
Both are billed monthly at the prices above. Klaviyo counts active profiles and sets the email allowance by tier; Omnisend counts contacts, gives Standard emails equal to twelve times the contacts and lists unlimited emails on Pro. Omnisend's prices at 1,000 and 2,500 contacts are the page's regular three-month totals divided by three; at 5,000 and 10,000 contacts the page shows the monthly price directly and the two agree. SMS is billed separately at both. Klaviyo shows a first-month discount at its smallest paid tier only; Omnisend takes 30% off the first three months for new subscribers who pay in advance, once. Both free plans list 500 emails a month and 250 contacts or profiles (each platform's pricing page, read 1 November 2026). Klaviyo's help centre adds that on its free Profiles and Email plan, being over the profile limit means you cannot send emails until you are back under it.
Store events and flows
| Scenario | Klaviyo with Shopify | Klaviyo with WooCommerce | Omnisend |
|---|---|---|---|
| Abandoned cart | Started Checkout is available by default; Added to Cart needs the behavioral-events setting | Started Checkout needs a logged-in shopper with items in the cart on the checkout page, or a billing email entered; Added to Cart needs a shopper cookied by Klaviyo | A pre-built cart abandonment workflow is listed for Shopify and WooCommerce; per-event detail is not stated |
| Orders | Placed Order, Ordered Product, Fulfilled Order, Cancelled Order and Refunded Order (full refunds only) | Placed Order when an order is processing or completed, Ordered Product, Fulfilled, Cancelled and Refunded Order | Order and shipping confirmation workflows are listed for WooCommerce; Shopify order events are not stated |
| Browsing | Viewed Product for identified users (behavioral-events setting) | Viewed Product | Not stated |
| History on connect | Last 90 days of orders and customers first, then older data up to 10 years | Not stated | Not stated |
Limits, promotions and billing
| Topic | Klaviyo | Omnisend |
|---|---|---|
| What is counted | Active profiles reachable by email; unsubscribed and suppressed profiles do not count | Subscribers plus non-subscribers; unsubscribed contacts are not billed; counted once across segments |
| Email allowance | Set by the plan tier (ten times the profiles at the tiers we read) | Standard: twelve times the billable contacts; Pro: unlimited, subject to fair use |
| Over the profile or contact limit | Paid plans keep sending; the account moves to a plan that fits at the next cycle | The tier adjusts each billing cycle; adding contacts beyond the tier prompts an upgrade |
| Over the send limit | Flexible overage, upgrade or no overage (sending then stops) | Standard: campaigns cannot be sent and contacts in running automations are removed until renewal or upgrade |
| Billing | Monthly, in advance; renews on the day the paid plan began | Every 30 days from the upgrade date; charges exclude VAT |
| Promotion | A first-month discount at the smallest paid tier only | 30% off the first three months for new subscribers who pay in advance, once; regular prices follow |
| Cancel and refund | Downgrades take effect next cycle and are not refunded mid-cycle; refunds on full cancellation are not stated | Upgrades are prorated; refunds on cancellation were not read |
Which one fits
Store events and documentation. Klaviyo documents each Shopify and WooCommerce event and its trigger conditions, which makes it easier to check that a flow will fire. For Omnisend the pages we read name the pre-built workflows but not the individual events.
Cost as the list grows. At the list sizes compared above, Omnisend's Standard plan is listed below Klaviyo's email plan, and its Pro plan, which lists unlimited emails, is listed at the same price as Klaviyo at the largest size. Check your own list size and sending volume before relying on that.
Limits. Omnisend Standard stops campaigns and pauses running automations when the send allowance is used up; Klaviyo lets you choose overage, upgrade or no overage.
This is our reading of what the platforms state, not a test result.
Editorial opinion
Our take
The two are closer than their price pages suggest: both count people, both bill monthly and both separate SMS from email. Choose by the store events your flows depend on, the send limit you will actually reach and what the second billing period costs, and confirm the events with a test connection before you migrate.
Editorial opinion
Sources
- Klaviyo pricing (US, USD)
- Klaviyo: how pricing works (active profiles, send capacity)
- Klaviyo help: how billing works
- Klaviyo help: abandoned cart flow
- Klaviyo help: Shopify data reference
- Klaviyo help: WooCommerce data reference
- Omnisend pricing
- Omnisend help: pricing plans 2026
- Omnisend help: paid plan charges
- Omnisend for Shopify
- Omnisend for WooCommerce
Sources
Nikita Latyshev is the founder of LATYNEX Labs, an independent publication about business software and infrastructure. LATYNEX Labs is published by Latynex Trade OÜ, Estonia. How the site checks facts, handles sponsorship and earns money is described on its methodology, editorial policy and affiliate disclosure pages.