LATYNEX Labs

GuideEditorial — Our editors' view, not vendor data.

Ecommerce email automations on Shopify and WooCommerce: what to set up first

The first automations a store needs, what Klaviyo and Omnisend state they need from Shopify and WooCommerce, and how to budget sends and test before going live.

By Nikita LatyshevPublished Prices and specs update from our catalogue

The short answer

Set up four automations before anything else: a welcome message for new subscribers, an abandoned-cart message, the order and shipping confirmations, and a win-back message for customers who go quiet. Each depends on events that your shop must send to the email platform, and the platforms do not all send the same events: on Klaviyo, for example, the abandoned-cart trigger works differently on Shopify and on WooCommerce. So the first step is not building the message but confirming which events arrive and when.

This guide covers Klaviyo and Omnisend because those are the two platforms whose Shopify and WooCommerce behaviour we have read in the vendors' own help pages; we do not describe Mailchimp, Brevo or ActiveCampaign setup here. It also shows how to budget the monthly send allowance, which both vendors tie to the size of your list, and gives a test plan. For platform pricing see Klaviyo pricing by active profiles and Klaviyo vs Omnisend; for the sending-domain setup that sits underneath all of it see email sender domain setup.

Sources: [1], [2], [3], [4], [5], [6]

The four automations, in order

What to set up first (editorial priorities; event facts are in the next table)
OrderAutomationWhat it needs from the shopWhat to confirm before going live
1WelcomeA sign-up event with consent recordedThe new subscriber's status and the consent text are stored
2Abandoned cartA cart or checkout event with an email address attachedWhich event fires, for which shoppers, and after what delay
3Order and shipping confirmationsOrder, fulfilment and cancellation eventsThey do not duplicate the emails your shop already sends
4Win-backOrder history and a last-order dateThe platform has loaded your past orders

Editorial opinion

What Klaviyo and Omnisend state about Shopify and WooCommerce

Events and history, as the vendors' help pages state them (read 29 October 2026)
TopicKlaviyo with ShopifyKlaviyo with WooCommerceOmnisend
Abandoned cartStarted Checkout is available by default; Added to Cart needs the behavioral-events settingStarted Checkout needs a logged-in shopper with items in the cart on the checkout page, or a billing email entered; Added to Cart needs a shopper cookied by KlaviyoA pre-built cart abandonment workflow is listed for Shopify and WooCommerce; per-event detail is not stated
OrdersPlaced Order, Ordered Product, Fulfilled Order, Cancelled Order, Refunded Order (full refunds only)Placed Order when an order is processing or completed, plus Ordered Product, Fulfilled, Cancelled and Refunded OrderOrder and shipping confirmation workflows are listed for WooCommerce; Shopify order events are not stated
History on connectLast 90 days of orders and customers first, then older data up to 10 yearsNot statedNot stated

Sources: [1], [2], [3], [4], [5], [6]

Read the table as a list of things to test, not as a ranking. On WooCommerce the Klaviyo Started Checkout event needs a shopper who is logged in or has entered a billing email, so an anonymous visitor who leaves the cart before the checkout page never triggers it; on Shopify the event is available by default. If your abandoned-cart message depends on Added to Cart, switch on the behavioral-events setting on Shopify and check that the shopper is cookied. Omnisend's pages list pre-built workflows but do not state which events drive them, so confirm in your own account which shoppers it catches. The page we read for Klaviyo on Shopify says the last 90 days of orders and customers are imported first and older data up to 10 years afterwards, which matters for win-back: until history has loaded, "customers who have not ordered in 90 days" is not trustworthy.

Sources: [1], [2], [3], [4], [5], [6]

Budgeting the monthly send allowance

Monthly email allowance by list size (Klaviyo Email plan, Omnisend Standard; pages read 2 November and 29 October 2026)
List sizeKlaviyo: emails a month (price)Omnisend Standard: emails a month
2,50025,000 ($60)30,000
5,00050,000 ($100)60,000
10,000100,000 ($150)120,000

Sources: [7], [8]

Both allowances are multiples of the list: ten times the active profiles on Klaviyo, and twelve times the contacts on Omnisend's Standard plan. Campaigns and automations both draw on it, so a store that sends four campaigns a month to 5,000 profiles uses 20,000 of Klaviyo's 50,000 and leaves 30,000 for automated messages. Automated volume depends on traffic, cart abandonment and orders, none of which these pages state, so we give no estimate: count last month's carts, orders and new subscribers in your shop, multiply by the number of messages in each automation, and add that to your campaign sends.

Sources: [7], [8]

A test plan before you switch automations on

Pre-launch tests (editorial)
TestHowPass when
WelcomeSubscribe with a test address through the live formThe profile shows the right status and consent record, and the welcome message arrives
Abandoned cartAdd an item and leave the cart as a logged-in shopper and as a guestYou know which of the two triggers, and the message arrives after the delay you set
Order confirmationPlace a test orderOne confirmation arrives, not two (shop plus platform)
ShippingMark the test order as fulfilledThe shipping message arrives with the right tracking details
UnsubscribeClick the unsubscribe link in a test messageThe profile status changes and no further mail arrives
HistoryCompare order counts in the shop and the platformThe numbers match, or you know what is still loading

Editorial opinion

Frequently asked questions

Frequently asked questions

Which automation should I set up first?

The welcome message, because it is the simplest and tests that sign-ups and consent are recorded correctly. Then the abandoned-cart message, then order and shipping confirmations, then win-back.

Why does my abandoned-cart flow not fire on WooCommerce?

Klaviyo's help page says its Started Checkout event on WooCommerce needs a logged-in shopper with items in the cart on the checkout page, or a billing email entered. A guest who never reaches the checkout page or enters an email will not trigger it.

Does Klaviyo import my past orders?

Klaviyo's Shopify page says it imports the last 90 days of orders and customers first and then older data up to 10 years. The WooCommerce page we read does not state a history window.

How many emails can I send a month?

Klaviyo's Email plan lists ten times the number of active profiles (for example 50,000 at 5,000 profiles) and Omnisend's Standard plan twelve times the contacts (60,000 at 5,000). Campaigns and automations both count.

Will Omnisend or Klaviyo send my order confirmation?

Omnisend lists order and shipping confirmation workflows for WooCommerce, and Klaviyo records the order events. Your shop probably also sends its own, so test that customers do not receive two.

Sources: [1], [2], [3], [4], [5], [6], [7], [8]

Sources and checks

Sources

  1. [1]Klaviyo help: Shopify data reference · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  2. [2]Klaviyo help: WooCommerce data reference · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  3. [3]Klaviyo help: abandoned cart flow · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  4. [4]Klaviyo flows · cited · checked 1 Oct 2026
  5. [5]Omnisend for Shopify · cited · checked 1 Oct 2026
  6. [6]Omnisend for WooCommerce · cited · checked 1 Oct 2026
  7. [7]Klaviyo pricing (US, USD) · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  8. [8]Omnisend pricing · cited · checked 1 Oct 2026

Nikita Latyshev

Founder, LATYNEX Labs

Nikita Latyshev is the founder of LATYNEX Labs, an independent publication about business software and infrastructure. LATYNEX Labs is published by Latynex Trade OÜ, Estonia. How the site checks facts, handles sponsorship and earns money is described on its methodology, editorial policy and affiliate disclosure pages.