LATYNEX Labs

GuideEditorial — Our editors' view, not vendor data.

Full cost of running an online store: fees and extras

Required costs, scenario costs and costs the platforms do not state, read from official pages on 29 October 2026.

By Nikita LatyshevPublished Updated Prices and specs update from our catalogue

A store's price is not the price of its platform. This guide separates what every store pays, what only some stores pay, and what the platforms do not state, for Shopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, Ecwid and Square Online. We read each platform's own pages on 29 October 2026. Prices are US dollars, exclude tax and describe a store based in the United States; card rates and payment providers differ by country. Sums marked as our arithmetic are calculated by us from those prices for stated scenarios, which are examples and not averages of real stores. We did not test the platforms and make no claim about sales, conversion or growth.

Plans and facts for each platform are on its product page: Shopify, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, Ecwid and Square Online.

Sources: [1], [2], [3], [4], [5]

Three kinds of cost

  • Required costs are paid whatever you sell: the subscription or, for WooCommerce, the hosting, and card processing on every sale.
  • Scenario costs depend on how the store works: a payment provider other than the platform's own, apps and extensions, international cards and currency conversion, disputes, and a plan change when sales or the catalogue grow.
  • Costs the platforms do not state include the domain, the price of most apps, the price of a specific host and the time the owner spends on upkeep. They are listed at the end rather than guessed.

Editorial opinion

Where each cost appears on each platform, read on 29 October 2026
CostTypeShopifyWooCommerceBigCommerceEcwid
Subscription or softwareRequiredBasic $39 a month, Grow $105, Advanced $399Software is free; no subscriptionCore $39, Growth $105, Scale $399Starter $5, Venture $35, Business $65, Unlimited $149
HostingRequiredPart of the subscriptionPaid to a host; $25 to $350 a month statedNot itemised on the pricing pageNot itemised on the pricing page
Card processing, US onlineRequiredShopify Payments: 2.9% + 30c, 2.7% + 30c, 2.5% + 30c by planWooPayments: 2.9% + 30cStarts at 2.89% + 29c on every planNot stated on the pricing page
Platform fee on other gatewaysScenario2%, 1%, 0.6% by plan on transactions a third-party provider processes; Shopify Payments transactions alongside it: standard rate plus 1.25%None stated2%, 1%, 0.6% by plan on open-provider orders; none on embedded$0 per sale charged by Ecwid
Apps and extensionsScenarioPriced by each app$29 to $299 a year eachNot readApp Market from the Venture plan
Sales or catalogue limitsScenarioNone stated on the pricing pageNone statedCore to $30K, Growth to $100K of trailing 12-month GMVProducts: 10, 100, 2,500 or unlimited
DomainNot statedCustom domain name listed as a plan feature; purchase price not statedNot statedNot statedCustom domain bought in the admin from Venture; price not stated

Sources: [1], [6], [7], [2], [8], [9], [3], [10], [4], [11]

1. The subscription, or the software

Plan prices, US dollars a month, per the pricing pages
PlatformPay monthlyBilled yearly, monthly equivalent
ShopifyBasic $39, Grow $105, Advanced $399$29, $79, $299
BigCommerceCore $39, Growth $105, Scale $399$29, $79, $299
EcwidStarter $5, Venture $35, Business $65, Unlimited $149$5, $29, $49, $119
Square OnlineFree $0, Plus $49, Premium $149 per locationNot shown
WooCommerceNo subscription; hosting is paid separatelyNot applicable

Sources: [1], [3], [4], [5], [2]

Offers and conditions: Shopify advertises 3 days free and then $1 a month for 3 months on most plans, after which the standard monthly price applies; its subscription charges are non-refundable. BigCommerce and Square offer a free trial (30 days on Square Plus and Premium). Billing yearly lowers the monthly price on Shopify, BigCommerce and Ecwid; the pages show the monthly equivalent and do not all say when the yearly amount is charged. Square's plans are per location and cover the whole Square suite, not only the online store.

Sources: [1], [12], [3], [5], [4]

2. Hosting and domain

Shopify, BigCommerce and Ecwid are hosted platforms; their pricing pages do not list hosting as a separate charge. WooCommerce is self-hosted: its pricing page states hosting at $25 to $350 a month for most stores, depending on traffic and performance needs, and its hosting page recommends seven hosts without giving prices. For actual host prices and renewal terms see our WordPress hosting guide on this site. No platform here states the price of a domain, so it is left out of every total below.

Sources: [2], [13]

3. Card processing and platform fees

Card processing for a US store selling online, US dollars
PlatformOnline card rateOther fees statedAvailability
Shopify Payments2.9% + 30c Basic, 2.7% + 30c Grow, 2.5% + 30c AdvancedPremium cards 3.5%, 3.3%, 3.1% (+ 30c); +1.25% on Shop Pay and local methods when a third-party provider is also used; international and dispute fees not stated41 countries
WooPayments2.9% + 30c for US cardsInternational cards +1.5%, currency conversion +1%, dispute $1538 countries
BigCommerceStarts at 2.89% + 29c on every planAmerican Express 3.5% with no fixed fee; open-provider fee 2%, 1%, 0.6% by planNot stated on the page
Square Online3.3% + 30c on Free; 2.9% + 30c on Plus and PremiumIn person 2.6% + 15c, 2.5% + 15c, 2.4% + 15cUS pricing page
EcwidNot stated on the pricing page$0 per sale charged by EcwidNot stated

Sources: [1], [14], [8], [15], [3], [10], [5], [4], [11], [16]

Scenario assumptions, all ours: a US store selling online only; every order paid by a domestic US card; no refunds or disputes. The three levels are 40 orders at an average of $50 ($2,000 of sales a month), 100 orders at $60 ($6,000) and 250 orders at $80 ($20,000). Card cost is the rate times sales plus the fixed amount per order.

Sources: [1], [8], [3]

Card cost a month, our arithmetic, US dollars
Sales a monthShopify BasicShopify GrowShopify AdvancedWooPaymentsBigCommerce
$2,000$70.00$66.00$62.00$70.00$69.40
$6,000$204.00$192.00$180.00$204.00$202.40
$20,000$655.00$615.00$575.00$655.00$650.50

Sources: [1], [8], [3]

Platform fees on other gateways, our arithmetic and before the gateway's own fee: on Shopify 2%, 1% and 0.6% of the sales the third-party provider processes, by plan, which is $120, $60 and $36 if all of $6,000 a month goes through it. If Shopify Payments runs alongside a third-party provider, the transactions it still processes, such as Shop Pay and local payment methods, are charged at the standard Shopify Payments rate plus a 1.25% premium instead, so the two cases must not be added up as one flat rate. On BigCommerce the open-provider fee is charged on the order GMV attributed to those providers, and is $0 on orders through embedded providers. Ecwid charges $0 per sale; WooCommerce lists no extra fee. Outside the 41 and 38 countries these providers cover, the US rates here do not apply.

Sources: [1], [7], [3], [10], [4], [2], [11], [16]

4. Apps and extensions

Shopify apps are billed on their own cycle and each app sets its own price, so no figure can be given here. WooCommerce lists annual prices in its catalogue: Product Add-Ons $79, Smart Coupons $99, Table Rate Shipping $119, Memberships $199, Bookings $249 and Subscriptions $279 a year. As an example only, three of them (Product Add-Ons, Table Rate Shipping and Smart Coupons) add up to $297 a year, or $24.75 a month, our arithmetic. Which features a store needs is the real question: some are built into other platforms' plans, such as abandoned cart recovery from Ecwid's Business plan.

Sources: [6], [9], [4]

5. Limits that change the price as you grow

BigCommerce plans follow trailing 12-month sales, measured as gross order value minus 10%. Core covers up to $30K, Growth up to $100K, and Scale $33,333 a month with 0.9% charged on GMV above that. Core and Growth upgrade automatically at the threshold. Ecwid plans follow the catalogue: 10, 100 and 2,500 products, then unlimited. Shopify's pricing page states no sales cap; its plans differ by card rate, staff accounts and fees.

Sources: [3], [10], [4], [1]

Where the three scenarios fall on BigCommerce, our arithmetic assuming sales stay level for 12 months
Sales a monthTrailing 12-month GMVPlan whose limit fits
$2,000$21,600Core, limit $30K
$6,000$64,800Growth, limit $100K
$20,000$216,000Scale; monthly GMV $18,000 is under $33,333

Sources: [3], [10]

6. A worked example at $6,000 of monthly sales

Monthly cost for the middle scenario, our arithmetic, US dollars; excludes domain, apps, extensions and tax
PlatformPlanSubscription or hostingCard processingTotal
ShopifyBasic$39 ($29 billed yearly)$204.00$243.00 ($233.00)
BigCommerceGrowth$105 ($79 billed yearly)$202.40$307.40 ($281.40)
WooCommerceHost at $25 to $350$25 to $350$204.00$229.00 to $554.00
EcwidVenture or Business by catalogue size$35 or $65 ($29 or $49 billed yearly)Not statedNot complete

Sources: [1], [3], [2], [8], [4]

Costs the platforms do not state

  • The price of a domain, on every platform.
  • The price of most Shopify apps, and which BigCommerce or Ecwid apps a store will need.
  • The price of a specific WooCommerce host beyond the stated range, and the cost of updates, backups and security, whether paid or done by the owner.
  • Shopify Payments fees for international cards, currency conversion and disputes.
  • Ecwid's card-processing rates, which depend on the payment provider.
  • The length of BigCommerce's free trial and BigCommerce's phone-support add-on price.

Sources: [6], [1], [2], [13], [4], [3]

Our take

The platform with the lowest listed price is not automatically the cheapest store. Hosted platforms put the cost in the subscription and the payment fee; WooCommerce moves it into hosting, extensions and the owner's time. Price your own scenario with your own provider and country, and treat every unstated cost as a cost until you have a figure.

Editorial opinion

Sources

  1. [1]Shopify pricing · cited · checked 1 Oct 2026
  2. [2]WooCommerce pricing · cited · checked 1 Oct 2026
  3. [3]BigCommerce pricing · cited · checked 4 Nov 2026
  4. [4]Ecwid pricing · cited · checked 4 Nov 2026
  5. [5]Square pricing (US) · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  6. [6]Shopify help: pricing overview (charges and app billing) · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  7. [7]Third-party payment providers (Help Center) · cited · checked 1 Oct 2026
  8. [8]WooPayments: fees (US table) · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  9. [9]WooCommerce extensions catalogue (annual prices) · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  10. [10]BigCommerce: 2026 plan and pricing update (GMV rules) · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  11. [11]Shopify help: Shopify Payments with a third-party provider · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  12. [12]Shopify help: pricing plans FAQ · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  13. [13]WooCommerce: recommended hosting · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  14. [14]Shopify Payments: supported countries · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  15. [15]WooPayments: supported countries · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  16. [16]Shopify help: cost of Shopify Payments · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026

Nikita Latyshev

Founder, LATYNEX Labs

Nikita Latyshev is the founder of LATYNEX Labs, an independent publication about business software and infrastructure. LATYNEX Labs is published by Latynex Trade OÜ, Estonia. How the site checks facts, handles sponsorship and earns money is described on its methodology, editorial policy and affiliate disclosure pages.