LATYNEX Labs

ComparisonEditorial — Our editors' view, not vendor data.

Shopify vs WooCommerce: what a small store really pays

A hosted platform against free software on your own hosting: subscription, hosting, payment fees, extensions and who does the upkeep.

By Nikita LatyshevPublished Updated Prices and specs update from our catalogue

This comparison is for a small store choosing between a hosted platform, Shopify, and WooCommerce, free software that runs on WordPress and your own hosting. We read each platform's own pages on 29 October 2026 and recorded what they state. Prices are in US dollars, exclude tax and describe a store based in the United States; Shopify Payments and WooPayments are offered only in certain countries and their rates differ elsewhere. Sums marked as our arithmetic are calculated by us for stated, illustrative scenarios. They are not averages of real stores. We did not test either platform and make no claim about sales, conversion or growth.

Sources: [1], [2]

The short answer

Shopify is one bill that includes hosting, so it suits an owner who wants to sell rather than maintain a website. WooCommerce has no subscription, but a WooCommerce store is not free: hosting, a domain, payment fees and any paid extensions are bought separately, and keeping the site updated, backed up and secure is the owner's job. Which one costs less depends on the hosting you choose, the extensions you need and what the upkeep is worth to you, not on the price of the software.

Editorial opinion

Costs on each platform

Values come from our catalogue with the date each was checked; “No data” means we have not verified it. The table shows facts only — our assessment is in the text.
What each platform states about its costs, US dollars, read on 29 October 2026
CostShopifyWooCommerce
Software or subscriptionBasic $39 a month, Grow $105, Advanced $399; $29, $79 and $299 a month when billed yearlyCore software is free; no subscription and no revenue share
HostingPart of the subscriptionPaid to a host; WooCommerce states $25 to $350 a month for most stores
DomainA custom domain name is listed as a plan feature; the price of buying one is not statedThe price of a domain is not stated on the pricing pages
Card processing, US onlineShopify Payments: 2.9% + 30c on Basic, 2.7% + 30c on Grow, 2.5% + 30c on AdvancedWooPayments: 2.9% + 30c for US cards, no monthly or setup fee
Platform fee on other gateways2% on Basic, 1% on Grow, 0.6% on Advanced on transactions the third-party provider processes, plus the gateway's own fees; Shopify Payments transactions alongside it carry a 1.25% premiumNone stated by WooCommerce; the gateway's own fees apply
Paid add-onsApps are billed on their own cycle and each app sets its priceExtensions cost $29 to $299 a year each
UpkeepHosted by ShopifySelf-hosted: updates, backups and security fall to the owner or the host
Introductory offer3 days free, then $1 a month for 3 months on most plansNone stated on the pricing page

Sources: [1], [3], [4], [2], [5], [6], [7], [8]

Our arithmetic: a month at three sales levels

Assumptions, all ours: a US store selling online only; every order paid by a domestic US card; no refunds or disputes; Shopify Payments on Shopify and WooPayments on WooCommerce; tax, domain, extensions and apps left out. The three levels are 40 orders at an average of $50 ($2,000 of sales a month), 100 orders at $60 ($6,000) and 250 orders at $80 ($20,000). They are examples for arithmetic, not averages of real stores. Card cost is the rate times sales plus 30c per order.

Sources: [1], [5], [2]

Subscription or hosting plus card processing, our arithmetic, US dollars a month
Sales a monthShopify Basic, pay monthlyShopify Basic, billed yearlyWooCommerce, hosting at $25WooCommerce, hosting at $350
$2,000 (40 orders at $50)$39 + $70.00 = $109.00$29 + $70.00 = $99.00$25 + $70.00 = $95.00$350 + $70.00 = $420.00
$6,000 (100 orders at $60)$39 + $204.00 = $243.00$29 + $204.00 = $233.00$25 + $204.00 = $229.00$350 + $204.00 = $554.00
$20,000 (250 orders at $80)$39 + $655.00 = $694.00$29 + $655.00 = $684.00$25 + $655.00 = $680.00$350 + $655.00 = $1,005.00

Sources: [1], [2], [5]

How to read it: at these rates the card cost is the same on both platforms, so the difference is the monthly platform line. With the cheapest hosting WooCommerce is $14 a month below Shopify Basic pay-monthly, or $4 below it billed yearly; with hosting at the top of the range it is $311 above. These totals leave out the domain, paid extensions, apps and the time spent on upkeep, none of which the platforms price.

Sources: [1], [2]

If you use another payment provider

On Shopify, orders paid through a gateway other than Shopify Payments, Shop Pay or a manual method carry a transaction fee on top of the gateway's own fee: 2% on Basic, 1% on Grow, 0.6% on Advanced. Our arithmetic for that platform fee alone at the three sales levels: $40, $20 and $12 at $2,000; $120, $60 and $36 at $6,000; $400, $200 and $120 at $20,000. PayPal is exempt when Shopify Payments is the primary provider. The rules change when a third-party provider is your main card processor and Shopify Payments runs alongside it: card payments handled by the third-party provider carry the transaction fee above, while transactions Shopify Payments still processes, such as Shop Pay and local payment methods, are charged at the standard Shopify Payments rate plus a 1.25% premium. Shopify Payments rates vary by plan and market, so we give no single total for that mix. WooCommerce lists no extra fee for third-party gateways, but the gateway's own rates apply and were not read here.

Our arithmetic on upgrading: Grow costs $66 a month more than Basic pay-monthly ($50 billed yearly) and cuts the third-party fee by one percentage point, so it pays for itself from $6,600 of monthly sales processed by the third-party provider ($5,000 billed yearly). With Shopify Payments the card rate falls by 0.2 percentage points, which breaks even at $33,000 of monthly sales.

Sources: [1], [4], [7], [8], [9]

Where the US rates stop applying

Shopify Payments is offered in 41 countries and WooPayments in 38. A store based elsewhere needs another provider, and the US rates in this article should not be applied to it. WooPayments fees also differ by country and card: for US accounts the table adds 1.5% for international cards, 1% for currency conversion and $15 per dispute. A US store that lets Shopify manage its sales tax cannot use third-party payment providers until tax is set to self-directed.

Sources: [10], [11], [5], [4]

Who does the upkeep

On Shopify the platform hosts the store. On WooCommerce the owner picks a host and is responsible for keeping WordPress, the theme and every extension updated, for backups and for security, either by doing it or by paying a managed host or a developer. WooCommerce lists recommended hosts but does not state their prices, and neither platform prices the owner's time.

Already on one platform and thinking of switching? What a CSV moves and what you rebuild covers the move in both directions.

Editorial opinion

Conditions to check before you buy

  • Shopify subscriptions are non-refundable; a store can be paused or deactivated to stop charges.
  • The introductory offer is 3 days free, then $1 a month for 3 months on most plans; the page does not say which billing option it covers, and the standard monthly price follows.
  • App prices are set by each app and billed separately from the subscription.
  • WooCommerce extensions are priced per year; the catalogue mentions a 30-day money-back guarantee and does not describe renewal terms.
  • Not stated: domain prices, Shopify Payments fees for international cards and disputes, and hosting prices beyond WooCommerce's range.

Sources: [7], [3], [1], [6], [12]

Shopify

Hosted commerce platform for online, in-person and social selling with tiered monthly plans.

Hosting and checkout inside one subscription; check which payment provider you will use before choosing a plan.

Basic plan

$39 /mo, billed monthly

Source changed · re-check pending · verified — The official page changed after the last check. The value stays visible while it is checked again.

Where this comes from

Official source: shopify.com(official source, opens in a new tab)

Last checked on . The source has changed since — a re-check is pending.

How we verify

WooCommerce

Free WordPress ecommerce software; hosting, extensions and payment fees are extra

Software is free; hosting, domain, payment fees and extensions are billed separately.

Software, self-hosted (no hosting included) plan

Free

Verified — An editor checked this value against the official source on the date shown.

Where this comes from

Official source: woocommerce.com(official source, opens in a new tab)

Last checked on .

How we verify

Our take

Choose Shopify if you want one bill and no server to look after. Choose WooCommerce if you already work in WordPress, have a host you trust or a developer, and need control that justifies doing the upkeep. Price the extensions you need first: a store that needs several paid extensions and a managed host can cost more than a Shopify plan.

Editorial opinion

Sources

  1. [1]Shopify pricing · cited · checked 1 Oct 2026
  2. [2]WooCommerce pricing · cited · checked 1 Oct 2026
  3. [3]Shopify help: pricing overview (charges and app billing) · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  4. [4]Third-party payment providers (Help Center) · cited · checked 1 Oct 2026
  5. [5]WooPayments: fees (US table) · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  6. [6]WooCommerce extensions catalogue (annual prices) · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  7. [7]Shopify help: pricing plans FAQ · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  8. [8]Shopify help: Shopify Payments with a third-party provider · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  9. [9]Shopify help: cost of Shopify Payments · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  10. [10]Shopify Payments: supported countries · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  11. [11]WooPayments: supported countries · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  12. [12]WooCommerce: recommended hosting · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026

Nikita Latyshev

Founder, LATYNEX Labs

Nikita Latyshev is the founder of LATYNEX Labs, an independent publication about business software and infrastructure. LATYNEX Labs is published by Latynex Trade OÜ, Estonia. How the site checks facts, handles sponsorship and earns money is described on its methodology, editorial policy and affiliate disclosure pages.