LATYNEX Labs

GuideEditorial — Our editors' view, not vendor data.

Choosing a CRM for a small B2B service business

A team that gets enquiries by web form or email loses them without a follow-up routine. Decide whether a CRM fixes that, then price the shortlist the way each vendor actually charges.

By Nikita LatyshevPublished Updated Prices and specs update from our catalogue

Who this is for

A service business of roughly five to twenty-five people, where a few people sell, and enquiries arrive by website form and email. The question is not which CRM has the most features, but whether a CRM would stop enquiries from being lost, and what that costs for your team size.

Signs you need a CRM

  • Enquiries arrive in more than one place (a form, a shared inbox, personal inboxes) and nobody can say which are still open.
  • Follow-up depends on someone remembering. A lead goes quiet because the person who spoke to it was away.
  • Two people contact the same lead, or nobody does, because ownership is not recorded.
  • You cannot answer "how many proposals are out and what are they worth" without building a spreadsheet first.
  • When a salesperson leaves, the history of their conversations leaves with them.

If two or three of these are true every week, the cost of a missed follow-up is probably higher than a small CRM subscription. That is a judgement for you to check against your own numbers, not a measured result.

Editorial opinion

When you do not need one yet

  • One person handles every enquiry and the volume is low enough to see it all in one inbox.
  • Work arrives mostly from existing clients and referrals that you track in a project tool you already pay for.
  • You have not yet written down your follow-up routine. A CRM will enforce a routine; it will not invent one. Write the routine on a page first.

A shared inbox plus a simple spreadsheet is a legitimate answer at that stage. Revisit the choice when ownership or duplicate contacts start to cause visible misses.

Editorial opinion

Criteria that decide the choice

Questions to answer before comparing prices
CriterionWhy it changes the price or the outcome
How the vendor chargesPer seat (the more people log in, the more you pay) or per contact (the bigger the list, the more you pay). The two scale in opposite directions.
What the entry paid plan includesWhether a deal pipeline, email sync and automations are in the plan you would buy, or in a higher plan or a paid add-on.
LimitsRecords, automations, sequences and API use per plan; what happens when you hit one.
Fees beyond the subscriptionRequired onboarding or implementation fees, add-ons for email campaigns, extra seats.
Billing commitmentPaid month to month, or paid for a year up front at a lower monthly equivalent.
Who must have a seatEveryone who edits records, or also people who only need to read them.
Fit with your form and mailboxWhether your website form, email and calendar connect without custom work.
Where the data sits and who processes itThe vendor's processor terms and the consent records you must keep.

How the three charge

  • Pipedrive charges per seat. Its help page says you are charged per seat whether or not it is assigned to a user, and that annual billing is paid up front for the whole year. The pricing page lists four plans (Lite, Growth, Premium, Ultimate) and a free trial of 14 days without a card; no free plan is listed.
  • HubSpot charges per seat on its paid Sales Hub plans, and offers a free CRM for up to two users. Its catalog describes different seat types: a Core Seat for Starter and a Sales Seat for Professional and Enterprise; its pricing page says view-only seats are available at no additional cost. Professional and Enterprise carry a required one-time onboarding fee.
  • ActiveCampaign prices by the number of contacts and its pricing page is headed "Choose your marketing plan". Each plan includes a number of user seats, and a deal pipeline is offered as an add-on on its upper plans. The page does not show the add-on or extra-seat prices.

Sources: [1], [2], [3], [4], [5]

CRM and marketing automation are different jobs

Pipedrive and the paid Sales Hub plans are built around a sales pipeline: who owns which lead, what stage it is in, what happens next. ActiveCampaign is a marketing-automation platform with a CRM component: it is strongest where the job is segmented email and behaviour-based follow-up to a list, and weaker as the single place a salesperson manages deals, because the pipeline is an add-on. Many small teams need both jobs and then pay for both, or choose one tool and accept its weaker half. Decide which job is the bigger problem first: lost enquiries and unclear ownership point to a pipeline CRM; nurturing a large list points to marketing automation.

Editorial opinion

What 5 and 10 seats cost

Seat-priced plans, USD per month. Totals for 5 and 10 seats are shown as: annual option · monthly price (Pipedrive) or catalog list price (HubSpot)
PlanPer seat: annual optionPer seat: monthly or list price5 seats, per month10 seats, per monthNotes
Pipedrive Lite$14$24$70 · $120$140 · $240No automations in Pipedrive's limits table
Pipedrive Growth$39$49$195 · $245$390 · $49050 automations and 5 sequences per company
Pipedrive Premium$59$79$295 · $395$590 · $790150 automations and 25 sequences per company
HubSpot Sales Hub Starter$7$20 (catalog list price)$35 · $100$70 · $200Core Seat; $7 is a limited-time offer (struck against $20); up to 10 users on the European page
HubSpot Sales Hub Professional$90$100 (catalog list price)$450 · $500$900 · $1,000Required one-time onboarding fee: $1,500
HubSpot Sales Hub Enterprise$150$150 (catalog list price)$750 · $750$1,500 · $1,500Starts-at price, sold through sales; required one-time onboarding fee: $3,500

Sources: [2], [6], [3], [4]

How to read this. Pipedrive's pages state that prices are per seat and exclude VAT; the annual figure is the per-month equivalent of one payment per year (for example Growth: $468 per seat per year). For HubSpot, the first price is what the pricing page showed with its annual option selected (Starter $7, shown struck against $20 and described as a limited-time offer, so it may not last; Professional $90, with $100 struck through); the second is the per-seat list price in HubSpot's catalog. The monthly USD price on HubSpot's own page could not be read for this guide, so the catalog list price is shown instead and is not stated to be the monthly option. HubSpot's European page lists Starter for up to 10 users. Enterprise shows a single starts-at price of $150 and is sold through sales. HubSpot's page does not say whether taxes are included. HubSpot's free CRM covers up to two users, so it cannot cover five or ten.

Sources: [2], [1], [3], [4]

ActiveCampaign: priced by contacts, not seats (1,000 contacts, billed yearly, USD per month)
PlanPrice per monthUser seats includedDeal pipeline
Starter$151Not included
Plus$491Pipelines add-on (price not shown on the page)
Pro$793Pipelines add-on (price not shown on the page)
Enterprise$1455Pipelines add-on (price not shown on the page)

Sources: [5]

The cost of ten ActiveCampaign users cannot be worked out from the published page: it shows seats included per plan but not the price of an extra seat, and it shows only yearly billing, with no monthly price. Its tiers rise with the number of contacts, so the same plan costs more as your list grows.

Sources: [5]

What the entry plan gives you for follow-up

Pipedrive limits per company by plan (from Pipedrive's usage-limits help page)
PlanAutomationsSequencesLeads and deals
LiteN/AN/A2,500 × seats (up to 300,000)
Growth5055,000 × seats (up to 300,000)
Premium1502515,000 × seats (up to 300,000)
Ultimate2505020,000 × seats (up to 300,000)

Sources: [6]

So for Pipedrive, follow-up automation starts at Growth, the second plan, not Lite. For HubSpot, the plan page read for this guide did not list record or automation limits in text; check the plan details on the page, and HubSpot's catalog, before you rely on a plan for automation. For ActiveCampaign, sales automation is not included in Starter according to the pricing page's comparison table.

Sources: [6], [3], [5]

Where a free product is the better choice

  • Two or fewer people selling: HubSpot's pricing page offers a free CRM for up to two users with no credit card required. If your whole selling team is two people, start there and pay only when a limit stops you.
  • Still deciding: Pipedrive and ActiveCampaign both advertise a 14-day free trial; the pages say no credit card is needed. A trial is the cheapest way to import twenty of your own past enquiries and see whether the pipeline fits how you work.
  • No pipeline needed yet: if the job is a few automated follow-up emails, an email tool (or ActiveCampaign Starter, which has no pipeline) may be enough, and a CRM can wait.
  • Low volume: a shared inbox and a spreadsheet, as above.

Sources: [3], [2], [5]

A practical next step

  1. Count last month's enquiries and write down who touched each one and how long the first reply took. That is your baseline, and the only number that proves a CRM helped.
  2. Write five must-haves from the criteria table above, not a feature wish-list.
  3. Shortlist two products. Use the seat table for a seat-priced product, and the contact-tier table for ActiveCampaign. If your shortlist is Pipedrive and HubSpot, read HubSpot vs Pipedrive for a small sales team; if you pick Pipedrive, see which Pipedrive plan a small team needs.
  4. Decide the billing basis before you compare: month to month, or a year paid up front at a lower monthly equivalent.
  5. Run each trial with a real set of past enquiries and one written follow-up routine.
  6. When the CRM is chosen, build the automatic part: website form → CRM → email follow-up.

Frequently asked questions

Is an annual price a 12-month commitment?

On Pipedrive's help page, annual billing means you pay up front for the entire year and receive a discount; monthly billing is paid each month. For HubSpot, the annual option is the lower per-seat price on the pricing page; whether a plan can be bought without an annual contract was not confirmed for this guide, so read the billing line on the exact plan you pick.

Does HubSpot charge for every user?

HubSpot's pricing page says view-only seats are available at no additional cost, and its catalog lists priced seat types (for example the Core Seat and the Sales Seat) for people who work in the product. The free CRM is limited to two users.

Is ActiveCampaign a CRM?

Its pricing page is headed 'Choose your marketing plan' and lists 'Enhanced CRM' as an add-on (Pipelines and sales engagement) that is available on Plus, Pro and Enterprise and not included in Starter. Treat it as marketing automation with CRM features unless the pipeline add-on and its price suit you.

Sources: [1], [2], [3], [4], [5]

Products compared

Pipedrive

Pipedrive costs $14–$79 per seat a month billed annually ($24–$99 monthly). Plan prices, what each plan adds, trial terms and extras billed separately.

from $24/mo

Verified — An editor checked this value against the official source on the date shown.

Where this comes from

Official source: pipedrive.com(official source, opens in a new tab)

Last checked on .

How we verify

HubSpot Smart CRM

CRM platform with a free tier and Starter, Professional and Enterprise plans covering sales, marketing and service tools.

Free plan

Verified — An editor checked this value against the official source on the date shown.

Where this comes from

Official source: hubspot.com(official source, opens in a new tab)

Last checked on .

How we verify

ActiveCampaign

Email marketing and marketing automation platform with segmentation, CRM integrations and conditional content.

from $15/mo, billed yearly

  • term commitment
Verified — An editor checked this value against the official source on the date shown.

Where this comes from

Official source: activecampaign.com(official source, opens in a new tab)

Last checked on .

How we verify

What this guide does not cover

  • Testing. No product was used for this guide; it reads published pages.
  • Other CRMs. Zoho, Close, monday CRM and others are not covered here.
  • Your tax position. Pipedrive says its prices exclude VAT; the HubSpot and ActiveCampaign pages read did not state how tax is treated.
  • Regional prices. The pages showed US dollars for the region they detected; other regions may show other currencies or amounts.
  • Implementation cost. Setup, migration and training time are yours to estimate.

Sources

  1. [1]How does pricing work in Pipedrive? · cited · checked 1 Oct 2026
  2. [2]Pipedrive — Official Pricing · cited · checked 1 Oct 2026
  3. [3]HubSpot Sales Hub pricing · cited · checked 25 Oct 2026
  4. [4]HubSpot product and services catalog · cited · checked 25 Oct 2026
  5. [5]ActiveCampaign Pricing · cited · checked 28 Sep 2026
  6. [6]Usage limits in Pipedrive · cited · checked 1 Oct 2026

Nikita Latyshev

Founder, LATYNEX Labs

Nikita Latyshev is the founder of LATYNEX Labs, an independent publication about business software and infrastructure. LATYNEX Labs is published by Latynex Trade OÜ, Estonia. How the site checks facts, handles sponsorship and earns money is described on its methodology, editorial policy and affiliate disclosure pages.