LATYNEX Labs

GuideEditorial — Our editors' view, not vendor data.

Shipping software pricing: subscription, labels and postage

What you pay the software, what you pay per label and what you pay the carrier, with stated examples at four volumes.

By Nikita LatyshevPublished Prices and specs update from our catalogue

This guide separates the three amounts a small store pays for shipping: the software fee, any per-label fee, and the postage paid to the carrier. We read each product's own pages on 29 October 2026 and recorded what they state. ShipStation and Shippo are read in a US context and priced in US dollars; Sendcloud is read in a European context and priced in euros, and the two sets of prices are never converted or added together. Sendcloud's figures come from its English pricing page; its national pages show different amounts, so they are examples and not the price in every country. Sums marked as our arithmetic are calculated by us from those prices for stated examples; they are not averages of real stores and they exclude postage, insurance and tax. We did not test the products and make no claim about savings on postage, sales or growth. Plans and facts for each product are on its page: ShipStation, Shippo and Sendcloud.

Sources: [1], [2], [3], [4]

Three bills, not one

The software fee is what you pay the shipping platform each month for access, and it is usually priced by how many shipments or labels you make. A per-label fee, where there is one, is an extra amount charged on each label on top of that fee. Postage is the carrier's price for a particular parcel and is paid separately in every case we read. A cheap plan can sit beside expensive postage, and a better plan does not change what a carrier charges for your route and weight, so compare the three amounts separately.

Editorial opinion

What each product charges

How each product charges, as stated on 29 October 2026
ProductRegion and currencySoftware feePer-label feePostage
ShipStationUS, USDStarter, Standard and Premium, priced by shipments a monthNone on any planPaid separately; prepaid USPS postage and insurance, other carriers billed as usual
ShippoUS, USDFree Starter up to 30 labels; Pro priced by labels a monthNone on Pro; 5 cents a label to connect your own carrier on StarterPaid separately; the plan fee does not cover postage
SendcloudEurope (English page), EUR; national pages differFree up to 20 parcels; Lite, Growth, Premium, ProEUR 0.12 to 0.07 a label by plan and billing; EUR 0.15 more beyond the plan limit; Free plan billed per label, rate not statedPaid separately, at Sendcloud rates or on your own courier contract

Sources: [1], [2], [3], [4]

Software fee at four volumes: ShipStation and Shippo (US)

Four volumes a month: 100, 500, 1,000 and 5,000. ShipStation counts shipments and Shippo counts labels, so the units are close but not identical; we treat one as the other only for these examples. For each volume the table uses the smallest published level that covers it. Prices are US dollars before tax and exclude extra users, postage and insurance. Brackets show the monthly equivalent when billed yearly: ShipStation takes 20% off, Shippo 10% (our arithmetic for the Shippo equivalents, from the stated yearly amounts).

Sources: [1], [2], [3]

Software fee a month, monthly billing, yearly billing in brackets, US dollars
Volume a monthShipStation StarterShipStation StandardShippo Pro (Starter free to 30)
100$29.99 ($23.99)$59.99 ($47.99)$19 ($17.08)
500$39.99 ($31.99)$89.99 ($71.99)$29 ($26.08)
1,000$79.99 ($63.99)$149.99 ($119.99)$54 ($48.58)
5,000$174.99 ($139.99)$249.99 ($199.99)$139 ($125.08)

Sources: [1], [2], [3]

How to read it (our arithmetic): at these four volumes Shippo Pro's list price is lower than ShipStation Starter's by $10.99, $10.99, $25.99 and $35.99 a month, and lower than ShipStation Standard's by $40.99, $60.99, $95.99 and $110.99. The plans are not equivalent. ShipStation Starter does not allow your own carrier account and includes 3 users; Shippo Pro does allow it and its entry level includes 5 users; ShipStation Standard includes 10 users. The table says nothing about postage, which is paid to the carrier in both cases.

Sources: [1], [2], [3]

Europe: Sendcloud, priced separately in euros

Sendcloud adds a per-label fee to its monthly fee, so its cost depends on the number of labels as well as the plan. For each volume the table uses the smallest plan whose monthly label limit covers it: Lite covers up to 400 labels, Growth up to 1,000 and Premium up to 10,000. Beyond a plan's limit an extra EUR 0.15 a label applies, and each plan also has a yearly label cap. Amounts are euros from Sendcloud's English pricing page; its national pages show different amounts (for example the Italian page lists EUR 79 for Growth and EUR 159 for Premium on its default view, and the UK page is in pounds), so check the page for your country. Nothing is converted to dollars and postage is excluded.

Labels beyond a plan's monthly limit are billed at the higher rate, not blocked, so on the monthly limit alone a store slightly above it can pay less by staying than by moving up. Our arithmetic for 500 labels on Lite (limit 400, so 100 labels over): monthly billing EUR 35 + 400 x EUR 0.12 + 100 x EUR 0.27 = EUR 110.00, against EUR 164.00 on Growth; yearly billing EUR 28 + 400 x EUR 0.10 + 100 x EUR 0.25 = EUR 93.00, against EUR 132.00 on Growth. Printing 500 labels every month is 6,000 a year, above the yearly label cap of 4,800 that Sendcloud states for Lite, and the page does not say what happens when a cap is passed. We therefore do not say that 500 labels a month on Lite is allowed without consequences; the covering plan is the one shown in the table.

Sources: [4]

Sendcloud software fee plus label fees a month, euros, our arithmetic
Labels a monthPlan whose limit covers itMonthly billingYearly billing
100LiteEUR 35 + 100 x EUR 0.12 = EUR 47.00EUR 28 + 100 x EUR 0.10 = EUR 38.00
500Growth (Lite covers up to 400)EUR 109 + 500 x EUR 0.11 = EUR 164.00EUR 87 + 500 x EUR 0.09 = EUR 132.00
1,000GrowthEUR 109 + 1,000 x EUR 0.11 = EUR 219.00EUR 87 + 1,000 x EUR 0.09 = EUR 177.00
5,000PremiumEUR 219 + 5,000 x EUR 0.10 = EUR 719.00EUR 175 + 5,000 x EUR 0.08 = EUR 575.00

Sources: [4]

These two sets of figures differ in currency, in unit and in region, so we do not rank Sendcloud against ShipStation or Shippo on price. A European store compares European options; a US store compares US ones.

Editorial opinion

Postage: the part no plan price shows

  • ShipStation: you are responsible for postage and insurance. Prepaid USPS postage can be topped up automatically; carriers that bill afterwards, such as UPS and FedEx, bill you as before.
  • Shippo: the Pro plan fee does not cover postage; it lets you connect carrier accounts and buy labels. The plan price rules apply to labels bought in the Shippo web app, not to labels bought through an e-commerce platform or a 3PL.
  • Sendcloud: labels are bought at Sendcloud's rates or on your own courier contract. Its pricing page shows sample starting rates for named services, which differ by plan and are not a quote for your parcels.
  • Surcharges: carriers can add surcharges, such as seasonal peak surcharges, that change what a label costs; the plan pages do not price them.
  • No parcel figures here: a postage price needs the route, weight, dimensions, carrier and service, and a pricing page knows none of them, so we give no postage figure for a parcel.

Sources: [1], [3], [4], [5]

Free, entry or paid plan

Free or entry plan and what pushes you up, as stated on 29 October 2026
ProductFree or entry planWhat it limitsWhat pushes you up
ShipStationNo free plan is priced on the pricing page (its support FAQ mentions a Free Plan); 30-day free trial; Starter is the entry plan3 users; no own carrier accountStandard adds your own carrier accounts, more users and unlimited automation rules
ShippoStarter is free up to 30 labels a month1 login user; own carrier account costs 5 cents a labelPro adds free own-carrier connection, branded tracking, chat and phone support and more users
SendcloudFree: up to 20 parcels a month, 1 userOnly Sendcloud rates; limited feature setLite adds your own courier contract, more users and integrations

Sources: [1], [2], [3], [4]

Do you need separate shipping software?

Shopify and WooCommerce both have their own label tools. Shopify lets you buy, print and manage discounted labels from supported carriers in the admin; eligibility depends on the carrier and country, and the discount varies by Shopify plan. WooCommerce Shipping buys labels from the order screen at discounted rates for stores based in the United States that use US dollars, needs a WordPress.com connection and does not show live rates at checkout. Neither page prices these labels beyond that, and we did not read Shopify's billing page for labels.

Sources: [6], [5]

A separate platform tends to earn its fee when one or more of these is true: you sell through more than one channel and want one order queue; you have your own negotiated carrier account; you need branded tracking, returns or automation rules; or you ship from a country the built-in tools do not cover. If you ship a few parcels a month from one store, the built-in tools or a free plan may be enough.

Editorial opinion

Connections and regions

Store connections and regions, as stated on 29 October 2026
ProductShopifyWooCommerceRegion read
ShipStationOrders import; tracking can flow back; no plan requirement statedShipStation plugin and REST API credentials; needs a recent plugin and WordPress versionUS prices; other regions not read
ShippoOrders import; tracking synced to Shopify; no plan requirement statedOrders import; tracking synced back; connection method not statedUS prices; the pricing page lists discounted rates across 40+ carriers
SendcloudOrders import; service point picker at checkout, no Shopify Plus requiredOrder sync and service points at checkout; plan requirement not statedEurope, EUR (English page; national pages differ); full support from eight countries, five more with a direct courier contract

Sources: [7], [8], [2], [9], [10], [11], [12], [4]

What we could not confirm

  • The price of extra ShipStation users, and what ShipStation does when you pass the shipment level of your plan.
  • Any postage price for a parcel, for any product.
  • The per-label rate on Sendcloud's Free plan, which the page does not state.
  • Prices outside the United States for ShipStation and Shippo, and outside Europe for Sendcloud, and Sendcloud's prices on its national pages, which differ from the English page.
  • Easyship, Pirate Ship and Veeqo, which we did not read and do not compare here.

Sources: [1], [2], [4]

Our take

Choose the plan by the number of labels you print and by whether you need your own carrier account, then price postage separately for your own parcels. Do not compare a US dollar plan with a euro plan: pick the region you ship from first.

Editorial opinion

Sources

  1. [1]ShipStation pricing · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  2. [2]Shippo pricing · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  3. [3]Shippo help: subscription plan overview · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  4. [4]Sendcloud pricing · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  5. [5]WooCommerce docs: WooCommerce Shipping · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  6. [6]Shopify help: shipping labels · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  7. [7]ShipStation: Shopify integration · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  8. [8]ShipStation: WooCommerce integration · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  9. [9]Shippo: Shopify integration · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  10. [10]Shippo: WooCommerce integration · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  11. [11]Sendcloud: Shopify integration · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  12. [12]Sendcloud: WooCommerce integration · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026

Nikita Latyshev

Founder, LATYNEX Labs

Nikita Latyshev is the founder of LATYNEX Labs, an independent publication about business software and infrastructure. LATYNEX Labs is published by Latynex Trade OÜ, Estonia. How the site checks facts, handles sponsorship and earns money is described on its methodology, editorial policy and affiliate disclosure pages.