LATYNEX Labs

ComparisonEditorial — Our editors' view, not vendor data.

Kinsta vs WP Engine: pricing, limits and terms compared

Two WordPress-only platforms read from their own pages: what each states, and what neither makes easy to compare.

By Nikita LatyshevPublished Updated Prices and specs update from our catalogue

Kinsta and WP Engine both sell managed hosting built only for WordPress. We read their own pricing, plan and policy pages on 29 October 2026 and recorded what they state. We did not test speed, uptime, support or migrations, and we have no customer reviews to report.

Sources: [1], [2]

At a glance

Entry plan details as each provider describes them (checked on 29 October 2026). Prices are in the table below, with promotions marked.

Values come from our catalogue with the date each was checked; “No data” means we have not verified it. The table shows facts only — our assessment is in the text.
Side by side, as stated on 29 October 2026
AspectKinstaWP Engine
Entry price shown$35 a month on monthly billing; $350 a year on annual billing (Single 20GB); first month free on select plans for new customersFrom $28 a month, billed annually ($336 upfront); first-year price is for new customers only
SizingBandwidth or visits (a toggle on the pricing page)Visits and storage by capacity step; Essential spans 25,000 to 400,000 visits and 10 to 50 GB
Entry plan as stated1 install, 20GB server bandwidth, 10GB storage, 125GB CDN, 14-day backup retention75 GB bandwidth listed for Essential; a per-step breakdown could not be read
Included, as statedAutomatic daily backups, unlimited free migrations, CDN, 24/7 support in 8 languagesDaily automated backups, 24/7 chat support, 1-click staging, global CDN, SSL and SSH; Essential runs in a shared environment
Next step upMulti-site plans from $70 a month (WP 2) to $450 (WP 40); Agency from $340; Enterprise from $500Business from $400 a month, billed annually: isolated resources, phone support, managed migrations, 99.99% uptime SLA
OveragesPublished: $0.50 per 1,000 visits, $0.50 per GB bandwidth, $2 per GB storage a month, $0.05 per GB CDNTerms: you are responsible for applicable overages, invoiced monthly in arrears; rates not stated on the pages we read
RenewalAuto-renews; promotions renew at the standard fee; fees may rise on reasonable noticeCharged at then-current rates; opt out at least 30 days before the term ends
Refund30-day guarantee stated on the pricing page; Terms: non-refundable except as statedNo money-back guarantee found; pro-rata refund of unused annual fees only if WP Engine ends the service for convenience

Sources: [1], [3], [4], [2], [5]

Price and billing

Kinsta's annual billing is described as two months free: $350 against twelve months at $35 (that is $420) is the $70 saving the page states. For WP Engine, the annual Essential price of $28 a month is shown as $336 upfront. Its footnote says first-year pricing and coupons are valid for new customers on Essential only and that renewal pricing is subject to change; the page does not say whether $28 is the standard annual rate or a first-year rate.

We could not read a monthly price for WP Engine Essential on 29 October 2026, so we do not compare monthly prices. Neither provider states a year-two price on the pages we read; Kinsta's Terms say promotions renew at the standard fee.

Sources: [1], [3], [2]

Limits and overages

Kinsta publishes its overage rates and says a site stays online when it exceeds its visit or CDN limit, with notifications at 80% and 100% of usage. Its overage page also says Kinsta may suspend an account if a second billing attempt fails after a very large bandwidth overage, and may temporarily limit access in extreme cases. The page was last updated on 9 March 2026.

WP Engine's Terms say that if an order sets a limit such as visitors, you are responsible for the applicable overages, invoiced monthly in arrears. The rates are not stated on the pages we read, so check the order form before you buy.

Sources: [1], [4], [5]

Which one fits

Kinsta states more of its limits and overage rates openly, which makes it easier to estimate a bill before you sign. WP Engine's lower entry price comes with annual billing and a first-year condition, so the comparison that matters is the second year, and neither provider publishes it.

If you need isolated resources or phone support, WP Engine lists them on its Business tier. If you want per-site pricing that scales by adding sites, Kinsta's multi-site table does that. Both are priced for sites where WordPress is the business, not for the cheapest possible brochure site.

This is our reading of what the providers state, not a test result.

Editorial opinion

Our take

The two are closer than their price pages suggest. Choose by the billing term you can accept, the limits you will really hit and the support level you need, and ask each for the year-two price in writing before you sign.

Editorial opinion

Sources

  1. [1]Kinsta pricing · cited · checked 4 Nov 2026
  2. [2]WP Engine plans · cited · checked 1 Oct 2026
  3. [3]Kinsta Terms of Service (renewal, fees, refunds) · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  4. [4]Kinsta docs: WordPress hosting overages · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  5. [5]WP Engine Terms of Service (renewal, fees, refunds) · cited · checked 29 Oct 2026
  6. [6]WP Engine backups · vendor data · checked 1 Oct 2026

Nikita Latyshev

Founder, LATYNEX Labs

Nikita Latyshev is the founder of LATYNEX Labs, an independent publication about business software and infrastructure. LATYNEX Labs is published by Latynex Trade OÜ, Estonia. How the site checks facts, handles sponsorship and earns money is described on its methodology, editorial policy and affiliate disclosure pages.