Framer vs Webflow: pages, CMS limits and what growth costs
Framer and Webflow both sell per-site plans. The difference is how a growing site is billed: what each entry plan includes, and what a step past its limits costs.
The short answer
Framer and Webflow both sell per-site plans with hosting, a free entry plan and a CMS on paid tiers, and both show prices in US dollars on their own pages. The difference that matters for cost is how a growing site is billed. Framer publishes the price of going past a plan's limits: extra pages, CMS collections, CMS items and bandwidth are sold in blocks, and extra editors cost $20 a month each. Webflow's Premium plan lists bandwidth tiers from 50 GB to 2.5 TB, but the price of the larger tiers is not on the pricing text we read, so we do not state it.
At the entry level, Webflow Basic has no CMS and Framer Basic includes two CMS collections.
Plans and prices
| Plan | Billed yearly | Billed monthly | What the plan adds |
|---|---|---|---|
| Framer Basic | $10 | $15 | 30 pages, 2 CMS collections, 1,000 CMS items, 50 GB bandwidth |
| Framer Pro | $30 | $45 | 150 pages, 10 CMS collections, 2,500 CMS items, 100 GB bandwidth, redirects, staging |
| Webflow Basic | $15 | $25 | Custom domain, 300 static pages, 10 GB bandwidth, no CMS |
| Webflow Premium | $25 | $39 | Everything in Basic plus CMS; entry bandwidth tier, larger tiers listed up to 2.5 TB |
Pages, CMS and bandwidth limits
| Item | Framer | Webflow |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes: Framer domain, 1 GB bandwidth, 500 AI credits to try | Yes (Starter): webflow.io domain, 2 static pages, 1 GB bandwidth, 50 form submissions |
| Past the page limit | Pro: $20 per extra 100 pages, up to 700 | Not stated in the text we read |
| Past the CMS limit | Pro: $40 per extra 10 collections up to 40; $20 per extra 10,000 items up to 40,000 | Not stated in the text we read |
| Past the bandwidth limit | Pro: $40 per extra 100 GB up to 2 TB | Premium lists tiers from 50 GB to 2.5 TB; tier prices not read |
| Extra editors | $20 per editor a month; content editors $10; viewers free | Not stated in the text we read |
| Price caveat | Prices shown are for the entry AI-credit tier | Premium price shown is the entry bandwidth tier |
What the catalogue compares
| Characteristic | Framer | Webflow Site plans |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | Free plan— verified; opens the source in a new tab | Free plan— verified; opens the source in a new tab |
| Free plan (Same) | Yes— verified; opens the source in a new tab | Yes— verified; opens the source in a new tab |
| Custom domain (Same) | Yes— verified; opens the source in a new tab | Yes— verified; opens the source in a new tab |
| Official site | Visit site of Framer(official site, opens in a new tab) | Visit site of Webflow Site plans(official site, opens in a new tab) |
Attributes the catalogue has confirmed for both products
- Free plan— verified; opens the source in a new tab
- Free plan— verified; opens the source in a new tab
- Webflow Site plans
- Yes— verified; opens the source in a new tab
- Webflow Site plans
- Yes— verified; opens the source in a new tab
What growth costs
Our arithmetic from Framer's published prices, on Pro and yearly billing at $30 a month (monthly billing is $45):
- 250 pages instead of 150: 100 extra pages cost $20, so $50 a month on yearly billing or $65 on monthly billing.
- 20 CMS collections instead of 10: 10 extra collections cost $40, so $70 a month on yearly billing or $85 on monthly billing.
- 300 GB of bandwidth instead of 100 GB: 200 GB extra is two blocks of $40, so $110 a month on yearly billing or $125 on monthly billing.
- Two extra editors: $40 a month on any plan.
The same exercise cannot be done for Webflow from the pricing text we read: Premium shows bandwidth tiers but not the price of the larger tiers, and we did not find editor pricing. A Webflow quote for your traffic has to come from Webflow's own page before you compare totals.
Which fits which site
Our reading, not vendor advice:
- A small site that needs a few CMS collections and nothing else fits Framer Basic on the published numbers, because Webflow's entry paid plan has no CMS and the CMS starts at Premium.
- A static marketing site with many pages is where Webflow Basic's page allowance is larger, but the two vendors count pages differently, so check your own page count against each definition.
- A site that will outgrow its plan is easier to budget on Framer, because the price of each step past a limit is published. On Webflow, ask for the bandwidth tier price before you commit.
- A team with several editors should price the editors on both sides first.
For how builders compare with WordPress hosting see WordPress hosting prices: promo vs renewal rates, and for selling online see e-commerce platform fees.
Editorial opinion
Our take
Pick Framer if you want a CMS on the entry paid plan and want to know in advance what each step past a limit costs; pick Webflow if you need a larger static page allowance on the entry plan, and get the price of Premium's larger bandwidth tiers from Webflow before you commit. Neither choice is right for every site: count your pages, CMS items and editors against the tables above.
Editorial opinion
Framer
Design-led website builder and host with a free plan and paid per-site plans.
Free plan, with paid plans that publish the price of each step past a limit.
Free plan
Verified — An editor checked this value against the official source on the date shown.
Webflow Site plans
Visual site builder and hosting with a free Starter plan and paid per-site plans.
Free Starter plan; the CMS starts on the Premium plan.
Free plan
Verified — An editor checked this value against the official source on the date shown.
Frequently asked questions
- Does Webflow's entry paid plan include a CMS?
No. Webflow describes Basic as for simple sites that do not need a CMS, with a custom domain, 300 static pages and 10 GB of bandwidth. The CMS starts at Premium.
- What does Framer charge when a site outgrows its plan?
Framer's pricing page lists extra blocks on Pro: $20 per extra 100 pages up to 700, $40 per extra 10 CMS collections up to 40, $20 per extra 10,000 CMS items up to 40,000, and $40 per extra 100 GB of bandwidth up to 2 TB.
- Is there a free plan on both?
Yes. Framer Free includes a Framer domain and 1 GB of bandwidth; Webflow Starter includes a webflow.io domain, 2 static pages, 1 GB of bandwidth and 50 form submissions. A custom domain needs a paid plan on both.
- How do I get the lower monthly price?
Both show a lower monthly price for yearly billing: Framer Basic $10 against $15 and Pro $30 against $45; Webflow Basic $15 against $25 and Premium $25 against $39. Yearly billing is a 12-month commitment.
Sources
Nikita Latyshev is the founder of LATYNEX Labs, an independent publication about business software and infrastructure. LATYNEX Labs is published by Latynex Trade OÜ, Estonia. How the site checks facts, handles sponsorship and earns money is described on its methodology, editorial policy and affiliate disclosure pages.